Basic Wolf Information

Wolf FAQ's

Types of Wolves

Biology & Behavior

Wolves & Humans

In-depth Resources


Scientific Classification of Wolves

Classification, or taxonomy, is the system of categorizing all living things. Living things are separated into different categories based on similarities and/or common ancestry.

Kingdom Animalia
All animals
Phylum Chordata
Animals with a backbone
Class Mammalia
All mammals
Order Carnivora
Carnivorous mammals
Family Canidae
Dog-like mammals
Genus Canis
Species lupus (gray wolves)
rufus (red wolves)
lycaon, which some scientists think is a subspecies of gray wolf-see below)
Examples of other Canid Species latrans (coyote)
aureus (golden jackal)
mesomelas (black-backed jackal)
adustus (side-striped jackal)
dingo (dingo)
familiaris (domestic dog)
simensis (Abyssinian or Ethiopian wolf)

Scientific Naming of Wolves

Every living thing on earth has a unique scientific name consisting of two words in Latin, which are always italicized. The first letter of the first part of the name, the genus, is always capitalized in writing, while that of the second part, the species, is not. Therefore, the gray wolf's scientific name is Canis lupus. This naming system is referred to as binary nomenclature and is the same all around the world, which helps people who speak different languages talk about the same species without question. Scientific names are often descriptive and give insight into one species' relationship to another species.

Common names

Unlike scientific names, common names are not always unique and vary by culture and geographic region. For example, a gray wolf living in a forested area might be called a "timber wolf" while a gray wolf living on the tundra might be called a tundra wolf.

Canids of North America

The canid family consists of thirty-five living species. Eight of these species inhabit North America. These North American species include gray wolves, red wolves, coyotes, red foxes, gray foxes, kit foxes, swift foxes and arctic foxes. The eight species may be organized in three general categories: wolves, coyotes and foxes.

Wolves are the largest members of the canid family. This is the species from which our pet dogs were domesticated. Wolves were once the most widely distributed, wild terrestrial mammals. They inhabited most of the available land in the northern hemisphere. Due to the destruction of their habitat and persecution by humans, they now occupy only about two-thirds of their former range worldwide, and only about 5-8 percent of the contiguous 48 United States.

Wolves can be found in a variety of climates and habitats. These habitat variations are sometimes seen in the type of morphology, or physical characteristics, seen in wolves living in different geographical areas. These differences sometimes differentiate types, or subspecies, of wolves around the world. However, these different types are so subjective that over the years scientists have disagreed as to whether in North America alone there are 24 such subspecies or only four. Current workers generally accept five, but a recent article lumped those into four. Subspecies of gray wolves in North America include the Arctic wolf (Canis lupus arctos), northwestern wolf (Canis lupus occidentalis), Great Plains wolf (Canis lupus nubilus), Mexican wolf (Canis lupus baileyi) and the eastern timber wolf (Canis lupus lycaon), which is debated by some as a distinct species, the eastern wolf (Canis lycaon). In reality, any differences among all these proposed types are so minor as to be meaningless except to a few specialists.

Coyotes (Canis latrans) are smaller than most mature wolves. Resilient animals, they have higher population numbers and inhabit a much larger range than do wolves. Coyotes are able to adapt to change and have a strong tolerance for human encroachment. Many people have used the terms "brush wolves" or "prairie wolves" when referring to coyotes. Coyotes, however, are not wolves. Coyotes and wolves are in the same family (Canidae) and genus (Canis), but are separate species, just as foxes and wolves are separate species.

Like wolves, coyotes have been persecuted because of their predatory nature. They are still trapped and killed in predator control programs throughout North America but continue to thrive.

Foxes match the coyote's ability to cope with civilization. Foxes are in the same family as wolves and coyotes (Canidae) but not the same genus. Gray (Urocyon cinereoargenteus) and red (Vulpes vulpes) foxes inhabit about three-quarters of the United States. Swift (Vulpes velox) and kit (Vulpes macrotis) foxes inhabit only small portions of the western United States. Arctic foxes (Alopex lagopus) live in the northern portions of Canada, Alaska and outlying areas of Greenland.